Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Need Help

tkennedy

Default Need Help

I'm a Navy Chief Petty Officer with 16 years in. My question is, when I retire at 20 years is it still feasible to be hired as a full time firefighter? Any advice will be helpful.

Default You Bet

Chief....You only obstacle would be your mental state. By that I mean you have all the experience and maturity now all you need to do is apply. I think that that would be your only limitation....availability.
    Good luck...and thank you for your service to our Country.

Respectfully,
    Jay Dudley, Retired Fire
    DamageControlman
    Respectfully,
    Jay Dudley
    Retired Fire
    Background Investigator
    IACOJ-Member
    Lifetime Member CSFA
    IAFF Alumni Member

Forum Member

About 2 years ago FDNY had a retired marine (20 years) go through the academy. He was 39 years old and the oldest probie they have had. In California it seems like most of the departments don't have age limits so you shouldn't have a problem at all. If you can, try to get your EMT cert while you are still in the service. This will make you much more marketable.

Thank you for your service to our country, stay safe and good luck with pursuing a fire service career.

PK

Quote Originally Posted by PK5343 View Post
    About 2 years ago FDNY had a retired marine (20 years) go through the academy. He was 39 years old and the oldest probie they have had. In California it seems like most of the departments don't have age limits so you shouldn't have a problem at all. If you can, try to get your EMT cert while you are still in the service. This will make you much more marketable.

Thank you for your service to our country, stay safe and good luck with pursuing a fire service career.

PK
    I was under the impression that one had to be 29 or younger in order to start with the FDNY. Is that not the case?

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by JLam77 View Post