Default The "Bradstock" Jump Squats: For power not Bulk

I have been a personal trainer for over 20 years, have trained numerous Olympic Gold Medalists, World Champions and World Record Holders. I am a two time Olympian and two time World Record holder ( in the javelin throw ). I was born with spina bifida, am now 46 and am still competing. I have never had any back or knee surgery. This is the only lower body weight exercise I do.

YouTube video link:

The "Bradstock" Jump Squat:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CPUN1C7V3B0

I have never told any of my clients to do this exercise or shown any of my athletes what I do. I have found it is an amazinlgly effective exercise for building explosive power without bulking or tightening up?

I believe this exercise would be great for buiding strength and endurance especially for firefighters. I would not recomend as much weight as I use but the exercise itself is great - I would recommend much lighter weight and more reps for you guys.

Just something I wanted to share.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by roald62 View Post
    I have never told any of my clients to do this exercise or shown any of my athletes what I do.
    Sorry, the word must be out.
    There were at least 5 other videos of random people doing the same type of excercise on youTube.
    And my wife did those sqaut/jumps in College Volleyball at the UW in the mid 1990's.

Good excercise though, it's always nice to add a new excercise to a routine!

MembersZone Subscriber

Default You have a point, Mittleschmertz...