MembersZone Subscriber

Default What should I carry in my line gear?

This is my first season on a hand crew with the Forest Service. My question is what type of gear should I carry in my pack besides the gear that is issued to me? I am thinking snacks and such. Does anyone have a good list of items that they like to carry on their person while out on the line?

the most important thing to have with you is TP.Good luck

MembersZone Subscriber

Well, I am on an engine so I don't know how useful my suggestions will be. I carry two MREs broken down into one, along with an assortment of bars, trail mix and usually whatever I packed for lunch for the day can go into my pack as well. If I am working a hose lay I carry a spare set of gaskets and a hose clamp. I carry a ton of water (6 liters) and some gato (2 small bottles). Since I am an emt, I carry a fairly comprehensive first aid kit. I carry a signal mirror (good for working with helicopters), a whistle (for emergencies), water purification tablets, a good sturdy space blanket (looks like a space blanket on one side and a tarp on the other), a poncho, 8 fusees for burning out or "pulling a Wag Dodge," and that is all I remember right now.

Forum Member

Question line pack suggestions...