Default Spokane Valley Fire Department

I'm probably going to be testing in Spokane this next year and was wondering if anyone could help me out with the specifics of the department, such as schedule, benefits and other information. I couldn't really find much out on the website, other than the general testing times for next year. Any info would be helpful. I'm currently a firefighter elsewhere, so anything job-oriented would be great, even how they work chow, or what the stations are like. I'm far enough away that a station visit is unfeasable. Thanks!!

Forum Member

I worked there for 9 years, left 4 years ago to move to Seattle. It's a great department. Lots of brotherhood. about 130 full time, no volunteers. Pay is good, especially with the cost of living there being low. They have a new chief since I left, but the guys seem to think he's OK. That's high praise after the string of losers they've had. When I gave my notice that I was leaving the department to move west, I never even heard from the Fire Chief himself. I spoke with the personnel chief, and then within about an hour everybody else heard the news. But you would think the chief would stop by the station, say "thanks for 9 years of service"?? Nope. Not even a phone call or an email. He was just putting in a couple of years to up his retirement pay. But I would say go for it, you won't regret it. Unless you don't like snow. :-)

Forum Member