MembersZone Subscriber

Default hiring sites/practice and best cities

hello, i know this probably has been talked about before but after searching i couldnt find it so any help would be greatly appreciated. I am currently in school and will be graduating with a fire science degree and am currently a FF1 and EMT-basic.. but i have a couple questions for anyone.

A) what are the best sites for finding jobs? i have a subscription here but it doesnt seem to be updated so i find most of them by searching..

B) what are some good sites to practice tests, oral board help, and anything else in the process?

C) I am currently living in Ohio, i have taken probably 5-10 tests in the last 12-18 months but most of them seem to be not hiring, I really want to get on a fire department and am wondering where in the US would be the best oppourtunity(specific cities would be great)?

Thanks in advance if anyone can help answer any of these questions!

MembersZone Subscriber

Sounds like you have the same problem hundreds of guys are having in Ohio, so the best advice I can give is get out while you can. I am from NE Ohio, and I know what your going through first hand. The thing about many Ohio departments is that its not just whether or not your the best candidate, but also your race, sex, and more importantly who you know play a big role in getting hired there. I am not slamming any Ohio FF's or departments, but again, get out while you can there are plenty of other areas wanting a candidate like yourself that are hiring as we speak.