5 55.56%
  • The Chief should be relieved of her duties

0 0%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    MembersZone Subscriber

Angry Wrongful Termination of a Fire Inspector

I need some advice from anyone that has gone through anything similar.
    This is complicated long story, longer than I care to post here, but here goes.

I am a volunteer Fire LT. Inspector/Investigator for the city in which I live with 15 years on this dept. and an additional 4 years on two others. 12 of these years I have spent in the capacity noted before. Our Fire chief is voted in by the Firefighters Association and approved by the city council.

My problems began last june when I gave a pt. an Albuterol treatment "out of Scope" I am an EMT-B and I was finishing up my Paramedic so I was in the "groove" as a Paramedic. When I got back to the station I immediatly called the Chief and advised her what I had done and that no harm was done to the PT. She told the other members on the squad to keep silent about it and that she would handle it. In october 07 I decided to run against the chief and sent out a letter to all members of the FD stating my intentions. Immediatly she became hostile towrds me, essentially blackballing me.
    She has done this to others as well.
    She won the vote for chief and I was fine with this (December) In January we had an officers meeting and she advised the group that she now felt that the fire Inspector should not be a LT and that it constituted a "conflict of interest" I argued several points with her but failed to convince her.

Feb 08 I recieved notice from the IDPH (Iowa Dept. Public Health)that I was going to be put on probation for the Albuterol Incident. At the time I was busy with my day job and out of town often so I forgot to notify the Chief of said IDPH action (14 days) late.