Default Twist Recruiters Arm?

Hey ya'll, I've read through just about every thread on here about new fellas like myself wanting to come into the AF and become firefighters. I have yet to talk to a recruiter in person, I talked to some advisors online, and they gave me the runaround. They quoted out to me that after taking my ASVAB if I was qualified by my scores for a certain position, then that position would be guaranteed in my contract. But in the next paragraph it talked about going to MEPS and putting down your 5 choices and you are required to fill whatever position they want. Im 26, I've been an EMT for years, and I want this badly, is there seriously a way to get one of these used-car salesmen recruiters to GUARANTEE you a AF Fire job? (And if there is, any advice? )

Forum Member

Yes. You get it in writing from the recruiter. When the time comes to sign on the dotted line, if your enlistment forms do not guarantee firefighter, you push your chair away from the table, say "Well, thanks but let me see what the Marine Corps can do for me" and you start to get up and walk out.
    "Loyalty Above all Else. Except Honor."

MembersZone Subscriber

Quote Originally Posted by FWDbuff View Post
    Yes. You get it in writing from the recruiter. When the time comes to sign on the dotted line, if your enlistment forms do not guarantee firefighter, you push your chair away from the table, say "Well, thanks but let me see what the Marine Corps can do for me" and you start to get up and walk out.
    that about sums it up. if one recruiter won't do it, there are always plenty of other ones that want the bonus from you. just keep calling around until you get what you want.

MembersZone Subscriber

Heli,