Forum Member

Default Probie Myth Busters

I've heard all the stories of the probie years but ultimately, what I gather is, every Firehouse is different.

I am a new firefighter at a smaller department and my first days on the job were full probie style - first in, last to leave, always busy, kept quiet, mouth shut...and after a while my crew insisted I relax and hang out with them. It was almost like they were annoyed that I was in full "Probie mode". I went along with them, while still getting my work done. Now my crew and I get along great and joke around with each other all the time. Technically, I am still on probation but I feel like I've been there for years. I do well on my tests and get commendation from my superiors. It seems like I fit the description of a 2/20?!

But now I'm afraid I will have this same mentality when I get to my goal department: a much larger and more traditional department. I'm assuming the advice of "Feel your crew out" does not apply at a large traditional dept such as the one BDLepore brought out.

Don't get me wrong, when I do get onto my goal department, I will be in Full Probie Mode, but I have just heard/read about stories where your crew insists you hang out with them but then the Probie gets busted towards the end of the Probie year for being too lax.

Any thoughts?

Forum Member

I'm in backgrounds for a large department and I haven't worked as I firefighter yet but this is something I've spent some time thinking about. My advice would be to be extra diligent about your responsibilities as a probationary firefighter. You don't want to alienate your crew by turning down every invitation they extend, but the LAST thing you want to do is get caught in a trap. The line would be pretty fine in this situation. I imagine that if the crew was as friendly as you fear, your captain might be the kind of person you could approach for advice about this kind of thing.