MembersZone Subscriber

Default Cardiovascular training

Hello, I'm new to the fire service and I've been training for the past 7 months, and have almost completed the FF2 practical portion at the local college, and start my volunteer academy in September.

I've always been in pretty good shape, but I'll call it "gym" shape. I've always been pretty sub=par in the cardio portion. During drill I'm one of the strongest, but even as hartd as I've been working my cardio doesn't seem up to par with some of my younger classmates (I'm 28). I did a CPAT here last month and got a 7:47, which I believe is pretty good, but the problem I'm having is just plain breathing too hard.

I seem to run out of the air too quickly on the bottle, and plain just use too much air when exercising. We did an agility at school on air a couple weeks back (it was 101 degrees), and the low air alarm went off on my high pressure 30 minute bottle in about 8 minutes.

Question is: How should I be training to gain maximum cardio endurance? I dislike running, but I can climb stairs all day, and like to work out super hard with full body exercises. Then I do 20-40 minutes on a stair climber or stepper.

Thanks for any advice.

MembersZone Subscriber

To improve your cardio endurance you need to.. well... do more cardio.

You basically want to get your heart rate at about 70% max (roughly 220-age) for 30-60 minutes. If you are currently doing cardio but aren't seeing an improvement in your endurance it could be that the duration or intensity aren't high enough.

You can also switch your weight-training workouts from high-weight/short reps to medium-weight/high reps to improve individual muscle endurance. Instead of benching 200lbs 8 times do 180lbs 12 times, for example.
    So you call this your free country
    Tell me why it costs so much to live
    -3dd

MembersZone Subscriber