Thread: Training Ideas

Forum Member

Smile Training Ideas

I am the head explorer advisor for the Troy Township Fire explorers in wood county ohio. I am new to this I was looking for some training ideas. What I am looking for is some fun things that you may have done or seen. We have about 8 kids on the roster right now and we are looking to provide them with a Outstanding experance so any ideas would help.

MembersZone Subscriber

Apparatus staging set up/ apparatus familiarity.
    Search and rescue.
    RIT.
    CPR Cert.
    SCBA usage.
    Basic car extrication ideas.
    Department policies.
    Radio protocol/ local language (aka. Engine 1 from command versus command to Engine 1).
    Donning gear/ timed gear donning.
    Truck/Engine company duties when arriving on scene.
    Obstacle course.
    Overhaul ideas.
    Wall breech.
    Tool recognition and usage.

That's just the beginning!
    Last edited by madparmedc; 08-07-2008 at 02:17 PM.

Forum Member

Your first training, before ANYTHING must be live fire.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by perry7118 View Post
    I am the head explorer advisor for the Troy Township Fire explorers in wood county ohio. I am new to this I was looking for some training ideas. What I am looking for is some fun things that you may have done or seen. We have about 8 kids on the roster right now and we are looking to provide them with a Outstanding experance so any ideas would help.
    WHOA!!!!!!!!!

All ya had to do was let us Rossford guys know you were looking for some information about explorer training and we would have been glad to help!

shoot me an email at jhoffman358@yahoo.com and I will be glad to help you. We would even be glad to have your whole post come up for a joint drill.

Jake Hoffman
    ------------------------------------
    These opinions are mine and do not reflect the opinions of any organizations I am affiliated with.

Forum Member