Forum Member

Default Advice from past and present live-ins

I am currently a Firefighter/EMT at a small FD in NC and I am moving into a larger fire department as a live in while I am attending college. What I am looking for is what to expect, I know what they expect of me as far as duties and training requirements and I will fulfill what ever they ask of me but I want to know what the experience of others was like. Thanks Guys.
    Just my opinion.

Forum Member

1. Dont stick a bottle rocket up your *** and light it.

2. Dont get caught doing the above on video.
    "Loyalty Above all Else. Except Honor."

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by FWDbuff View Post
    1. Dont stick a bottle rocket up your *** and light it.

2. Dont get caught doing the above on video.
    LOL I needed that laugh, what a bunch of freakin morons.
    Just my opinion.

Forum Member

I don't know anything about what kind of department you are joining as a live-in, but I have been a live-in for two years on a small department in the Pacific Northwest. It has been a great experience - like many things it is what you make of it. Just as people would tell you about joining a VFD or career department, keep your head down, stay busy and learn as much as you can. Keep your space clean and professional - at my station four live-ins share a large bunkroom with career staff so space is limited and what little privacy we do have is constantly being invaded by tours - it goes a long way with your fellow FF's and the public to keep things presentable. Keep the station and apparatus in good shape - not only is it your department (which should be enough) but its also your home so have some pride in what it looks like.