Forum Member

Default Utility Control: Solar Panels?

I saw this on another forum and felt a broader perspective is needed... does anyone have any information or experience with controlling electrical power from solar panels? Does it operate independently of a public utility or can they be connected, and in either case, where or what is the shut off point(s)?

MembersZone Subscriber

I have no experience with these systems, but I found the following article, which seems like it has some useful information:

http://altenergy.blog-city.com/gridi...ive_system.htm

MembersZone Subscriber

i'm not sure if i understood all of that, but i think i got you could still disconnect the solar pannels at a connection at the utillity box?

MembersZone Subscriber

Default You bet the building is still hot after the meter is pulled.....

In any jurisdiction, a grid-intertied system requires inspection by the local AHJ and the utility. The department should contact the local Building Inspector and work out the details for appropriate signage and disconnecting means as part of the installation permit process.

Another major issue is notification of the Fire departments by the code enforcement officials to make sure that facilities with redundant power (generator, wind, and and PV) are identified in the pre-plan book.

Forum Member

The house with solar panels may be on the grid, which means you still have to hit the main.

The house with solar panels may also have one or more batteries in the house. You will have to figure out where these are, and disconnect them.

There may or may not be a switch on the roof next to the panels themselves.

You could turn off the main, and turn off the batteries, but the panels may still be generating electricity. There is also the issue of ventilating the roof. The panels are strong, and you probably won't be able to cut through them or move very quickly.