MembersZone Subscriber
    Loco madidus effercio in rutilus effercio.

Default People Who Take Part In Extreme Activities Often Have Type-T Personalities

DOES FIREFIGHTING COUNT?

Average Joes Take On The Extreme. Extreme Sports Attracting More 'Normal' People

POSTED: 9:39 am EDT August 20, 2008
    UPDATED: 10:44 am EDT August 20, 2008

WASHINGTON -- Marathons and skydiving are -- for some -- once-in-a-lifetime events. But there is another segment of the population that not only embraces those activities; they are taking them to the extreme.

Olympic athletes are known for pushing themselves to the limit. Many are admired for their skill, power and dedication.

David Toy is no Olympic athlete, but he said he likes to think he brings that same drive to his own chosen sport.

"You just drive the pants off the car until you see the checkered flag," he laughed.

Toy is an auto parts service shop owner by trade, but in his other life, he revs things up on the track as a sprint and endurance race car driver.

It's a growing activity that is attracting everyone from doctors to welders to secretaries.

"It's just absolutely phenomenal," said Toy. "You're on pins and needles out there on the track, and there's nothing like the thrill of seeing the checkered flag."

For those who choose to log the extra miles by foot, there is another extreme sport to consider.

Dr. Farouk El-Kassed runs ultra-marathons -- races that can last up to a week and cover more than 300 miles.

El-Kassed said that once a person gets used to the distance, ultra-marathons are less difficult that regular marathons and shorter races.

"You're in touch with yourself. You're in touch with your inner soul when you do these races. Dirt, and sky, trees and nothing else," he said.

For some who are looking for an even bigger rush, they want to get off the ground entirely.

Ingrid Schroeder said she went on her first sky dive in 2003, but since then has logged another 405 jumps.