MembersZone Subscriber

Default Texas Fire School

It seems that in order to have a legitament shot at getting hired at a FD in the metroplex you have to be already fire certified. I am currently a Nationally registered EMT-I working for a county EMS agency. I have about 11 months as a paid FF in Georgia (did not get my fire cert because we relocated to Texas before I was sent to the Fire Academy)and about 3 years as an EMT-I. In GA you can work as a paid FF as long as you are in the process of getting your cert before your 1 year anniversary.

I currently work a 24/48 schedule so that eliminates alot of fire schools that are set up on a daily basis. So my question is does anyone know of an online fire school that does not require me to take 2 weeks off of work to go away and do the skills portion. Does anyone know of any departments that will hire a 39 year old EMT-I and put them through fire school? I plan on getting my medic as soon as I am finished with fire school.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

MembersZone Subscriber

trainingdivision.com

my brother and several friends utilized it to earn their certs.

It's all what you make of it, if you want to barely pass then that's fine, if you want to really learn, then take some initiative and learn.

trevolp
    Fort Worth Fire Department

Forum Member

My best advice is go to Collin College Fire Academy or DeSoto Fire Academy. You can find their websites on google. I'm currently enrolled at Desoto but I'd choose collin college over it any day.