Default Juniors vs. Explorers? Any Help?

Hi all first off let me start by saying I am a volunteer firefighter who is wanting to implement a junior or explorer program at my dept. I am not sure of the biggest difference in the two other than the name? Also anyone who would be willing to send me a copy of your departments by-laws or SOG's for the program would be extremely helpful and greatly appreciated. We just want to start this program to get more young people involved in the fire service. Any help, tips, and suggestions will be greatly appreciated. You can post here or email me:

matthew.williams10@okstate.edu

Thank you in advance,
    Matthew

Forum Member

The term "Explorer" is a trademark of the Boy Scouts of America Learning for Life program. So, Explorer posts and junior programs are the same thing, except that the explorer post will be affiliated with the BSA.

If you are starting from scratch, I would definately look into chartering an Explorer post. The BSA has 75+ years of experience running this sort of program, plus good stuff like leader training and liability insurance.

From your email addy, I'm guessing you are in OK. There are 7 different BSA councils in OK. Let me know where you are, and I will get you the contact info for the right council.

Yeah I am in OK. I am in Stillwater attending OSU. Any information on one of those posts near here would be great.

Thanks,
    Matt

Forum Member

from what i know they are pretty much the same thing in a sense but I always thought of Junior Firefighter are the kids who go on calls and wanna be firefighters while Explorers sit and watch and want to learn.

I can try and find you a copy of a local town's program. I will PM you it.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by pvfd14 View Post