Default Interested in becoming a Fire Fighter/Medic in N.E. Florida

Hello,

I have found a ton of good info reading this forum and I would like to ask a couple of questions/get advice if you don't mind.

A little about me. I'm a military medic (NREMT-P) and I plan on taking the state Paramedic exam within the next year or so. I'm not a Fire Figher. I have already looked into the different Florida Fire academys and have a pretty good idea what to expect. I retire from the military in a few years and I would like to get in a FD somewhere around the Jacksonville area (I am a Florida resident). I will be 41 years old when I get out of the service, but I am physically fit/acitve and I have been blessed by not receiving any injuries during my service. I have BA in business administration and I plan on finishing on a Masters in Disaster Management before I get out (hoping that this would make me more marketable). I'm more suited to working with my hands/with a team than I am working behind a desk. Lastly, I have a clean driving record.

This is where I would like some advice.

I know there isn't an official age cap, but does being 41 (even though a healthy 41) limit my chances of getting hired? I control my own retirement plan so this wouldn't be an issue to me.

If anyone know's a bit a about the Jacksonville FD I would like to pick your brain. Which academys they hire most out of (FCCJ?) or will any academy do? Is it a difficult service to get on? I have found out a bit by looking on line, but I would like actual opinions, if you would let me have them.

I know having my medic is a good advantage. How long does one take to start being worked as a FF/Medic. I know most fire Depts will have guys working as FF/EMT's for the first year or so...how long is the so? Or does it vary by department? I have no problems either way, just wondering.

Any insite is helpful. Thanks for reading.

Will

Forum Member

Will,