Forum Member

Post need some advice

hey whats up i was wondering if someone could help me out. i currently live in rhode island but was born in georgia im 22 years old and mostly all of my family lives in georgia.... i have my college degree in fire science with a minor in emergency management. i have been a volli for 6 years now and i have my nfpa firefighter 1 and 2, my nremt-basic, a rhode island emt-cardiac,acls,pals,phtls,cpr, hazmat awr,hazmat ops and rope rescue ops and also have all the fema ics certs... what would it take for me to apply to fire depts in georgia because i wanna be back home.

MembersZone Subscriber

Default get the tests

you will have to get a hold of the applications and then submit them some how. Then you will have to fly out and take the tests most likely. i have been to several fire tests here in AZ and talked to several guys that have flown in just to take the test. If you really are wanting to get the job you will have to make it work some how. Good luck!!

MembersZone Subscriber

Post Get reciprocity

First if you have the certs. get them where Georgia will recognize them. For EMT you will have to file for reciprocity with Georgia Office of EMS. And for all the fire you have get National Registered with the Pro Board or NPQ I & II. Depending on where your family lives depends on where to apply. There have been departments that have been hiring. If you have what the departments are looking for they will consider you, you might be traveling up to 4 times during the hiring process though.

Forum Member