Forum Member

Question HazMat / Rescue Walk-in Purchase

I have been a driver & engineer for (5) yrs. I driven a little of everything; I have never had to purchase one. As luck would have it, I have a collateral assignemnt to work with our administrative team to purchase a new Rescue-Combo Walk-in apparatus.

We service a heavy Industrial area and need a rig that suits the environment. I am very (very) green on a purchase. Looking for some feedback and comments on manufacturers, features, do's and don'ts of buying.

E-one Combo and Pierce are leading. Unit is to be outfitted for HazMat and Tech Rescue responses. Look forward to any feedback, thanks

Body Style: Walk-in small Command w/ Non-walk in storage aft of command
    E-One Combiniation Resuce is leading
    General Assignments include:
    - Hazmat Containment, Clean-up and Decon
    - Small Cammand Center w/ remote camera sys.
    - Technical Rescue (High Angle, Confined Space and Machine extrication)
    - Tripods, SKEDs, Ropes, etc.
    - Cascade and Fill system
    - Hurst Tool Set (combo, trimo p/u and Jaw)
    - Paratech (3) bag air bag system + struts
    - K-12 Saw and misc. hand tools
    - Triage and Rehab and RIT Support for an Engine Pumper.

Booster line woould be nice for HazMat support (Just don't think it'll fit.)

Again looking for some feedback.

Default Look beyond the Features.....

All I'm gonna say here is be careful! Both mentioned manufacturers are in SEVERE financial distress. The big "P" stock has just been downgraded to junk bond status with D&B, and is pushing buyers to pre-pay. Let me know if you want more details...

Exclamation Beware of company financials!