MembersZone Subscriber

Default Texas and Mississippi Firefighter 1001 Certification

Hello everyone. First off I am not trying to cause any problems by this topic, really I'm not. I looking for help because I cannot seem to find anyone who can give me answers. This is a lot of information to take in but I need help and I am coming to you guys for it.

I have served as a member of a volunteer fire department in Mississippi for over 2 years. I am a certified EMT, Volunteer Driver-Operator, and gone through other training classes with the department, Mississippi Fire Academy, and National Fire Academy. This concered the Firefighter 1 & 2 1001 certification.

I am wanting to go take Firefighter 1001. I plan on getting on a career dept eventually, but for the time being just as a volunteer. I talked to the fire academy here in Mississippi about getting in a academy class as a volunteer. The response was that as a volunteer I would have to apply like everyone else, but if any paid firefighter throughout the state needs to take the 1001 then they would get it before I would. Also from what I understand most of the classes through 2009 are either full or filling up. I would have to basically apply for every class and if a slot comes open, and no other paid firefighter needs a spot, then I could get it.

Well, I found there is a second option. There is, and I am sure you have seen their advertisements in Firehouse magazine, an academy in Texas which offers Firefighter 1001 called Fire Academy Online. Seems like a great program. I contacted their director and he helped me with some questions I have. Anyways....