Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default College Major for Fire Fighting

I am new to this website so im sorry if i made this thread in the wrong area. Anyways i came here to clear up a few things about becoming a fire fighter. Ive been told its best to get a 4 year education at a college for a better chance at getting a job as a fire fighter and climbing the ladder to making better wages.

Ive also been told its best to keep options open by majoring in someing else besides fire technology. Ive heard that even if you major in something else and apply for a job as a fire fighter it shows you have a commitment towards becoming a fire fighter even though you could go into a different job with your major and make much higher wages.

I am very interested in becoming a fire fighter as a career and any advice would be greatly appreciated.

p.s i am a freshman in my first semester in a JC in Northern California and i have yet to sign up for any Fire Technology Classes.

thank you for your time.

Default Which College Degree should you get.

I come from a family of firefighters. When I was a kid being firefighter had everything to do with being a hose man, driver/pump operator. The fire officer was the guy who had been there the longest. SCBA’s had not been invented. If they were there you weren’t a real man if you used one. I remember getting yelled at by the chief for using an SCBA on a car fire
    Things have changed so much in the fire service. Today I would suspend you and send you to the house for not wearing an SCBA at a car fire.