Default ISO info: admin leave for volunteer ff late for federal job?

Hi,
    I'm a volunteer firefighter and rescue squad member as well as a Federal employee. I've come in late to work as a result of my response to fire or rescue emergencies and my supervisor has made me take annual leave. My question is... is there some over-arching Federal policy that allows for Federal employees responding to emergencies to take administrative leave? In my searches online I found a few vague and seemingly old references: "
    10/ EXEC. ORDER NO.10,529, 19 FED.REG. 2,397(1954). THIS EXECUTIVE
    ORDER AUTHORIZES UP TO 40 HOURS OF ADMINISTRATIVE LEAVE PER YEAR FOR PARTICIPATION IN RECOGNIZED CIVIL DEFENSE ACTIVITIES."

and
    FPM SUPPLEMENT 990-2, BOOK 630, SUBCHAPTER S11. SUBCHAPTER S11-5 see the text here: http://www.flra.gov/decisions/v07/07-053-3.html

Any help would be much appreciated as I am really committed to my fire department and rescue squad, but if I have to run myself out of annual leave to respond to emergencies, it seems to me that there's a problem in the system.
    V/r,
    John

MembersZone Subscriber

Well, I'm also a federal employee, and have researched this a little bit. My command has a local instruction that states the supervisor MAY authorize up to 40 hrs a year admin leave for volunteer fire activities. The instruction does not require them to allow it. I've had some supervisors allow the leave and some who don't. Fortunately, my current positions allows for some flexibility as long as I don't abuse it and make all morning meetings that are scheduled.

I'm sure that several others will repeat what I'm about to tell you. Your job comes before the volunteer work. If you can work things out with your supervisor to occasionally be late due to emergency calls, consider that a bonus and don't abuse that privilege. If you can't work things out, donít' go on calls you don't reasonably think you will be back from in time, or be prepared to use leave.