Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    MembersZone Subscriber

Default Firefighter reciprocity?

Hi All-

I have a question about reciprocity. Does any state fire training transfer to other states? I have been a paid Firefighter for 16 years in Ohio but have some family medical issues that may force us to relocate to another state. Is there a list anywhere that tells what states will accpt OH FF 240 cert?
    Also, can anyone tell me what IFSAC is? and what it means to have it and how do you get it?

Thanks so much for the info...

Forum Member

Smile

IFSAC is the International Fire Service Accreditation Congress: http://www.ifsac.org/. They can get you headed in the right direction. I'm in North Carolina, & the contact here is the NC Dept. of Insurance:
    http://www.ncdoi.com/OSFM/FireAndRes...on/FR_home.asp. Reciprocity is more-accepted now, but still not as much as in other occupations. Transferring in-rank is even less common. Best to ya.

Quote Originally Posted by FireMedic7 View Post
    Hi All-

I have a question about reciprocity. Does any state fire training transfer to other states? I have been a paid Firefighter for 16 years in Ohio but have some family medical issues that may force us to relocate to another state. Is there a list anywhere that tells what states will accpt OH FF 240 cert?
    Also, can anyone tell me what IFSAC is? and what it means to have it and how do you get it?

Thanks so much for the info...
    Here is the list for what Ohio Courses are IFSAC accredited and the states that it should transfer to. Not saying that it will not transfer to others.

http://www.ifsac.org/Handbook/ACCREDITED_LEVELS.pdf
    ------------------------------------
    These opinions are mine and do not reflect the opinions of any organizations I am affiliated with.
    ------------------------------------