Exclamation need help on grant writting

I have recently moved from an urban area to a very rural area of north carolina. I have since joined the volunteer Fire department and am aw struck by the lack of equipment. I actualy find my fire fighting abilitys hendered by this. The department has not even been applying for grants, I have never written one before however I will be attempting it now. Our first immediate need is turnout gear, airpacks and spare bottles, and irons. Any pointers at all would be greatly appreciated.
    Thank's
    FF/medic sam

Forum Member

Default Grant help is out there

My advice to you would be to get hooked up with Kurt Bradley from chief grants. He has helped us in the past on grant and we have received money on the AFG grant and turnout gear should be a priority for you to get. SCBA also possible. Check out the site and get connect with Kurt.http://www.chiefsupply.com/grants/ He also put on a great grant writing class

Forum Member

you have found the right place my friend.....scroll through all of the thousands of posts here and you will be a better grant writer.....bunkers and scba's are almost shoo-ins for an award and if the department you joined has never applied for AFG, you are definately needy.....also, brush up on the english or get a good proof reader aka your wife....

MembersZone Subscriber

Congratulations......welcome to the world of grant writing. As a first time writer you may feel that this process is overwhelming and daunting. Not the case......it just takes some time and effort on your part to understand the process to be successful. You have taken the first step by posting here. Any time you have a question just post it and it will be answered.

Get up to speed:

1) Review the 2008 AFG program guidance to familiarize yourself with the program and priorities.

http://firegrantsupport.com/docs/2008AFGguidance.pdf