Forum Member

Default Middle East Firefighting (not contract)

All,

First, this has nothing to do with KBR/WSI.

I am in Iraq with the U.S. military and received permission to work on a project to assess the Iraqi Fire Service. I'm just getting started, and need some help. I need to compare the effectiveness of Iraq's fire service to that of its neighbors, ie Jordan, Syria, Turkey, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, etc. The intent is to see how they match up in training, roles, and equipment, and see what we can do to advance their capabilities to bring them on par with their neighbors.

I have been unable to find much info in the public domain, especially in English. I am already gathering information in country, but am looking for contacts with people who have been involved in prior fire service evaluations for the DoD or DoS since OIF I, or anyone who has traveled extensively and made contact with fire service leaders in those countries who could provide information.

I am well aware that asking for this on a public forum is tantamount to begging, but I'm casting a wide net. I am also aware that the collection of statistical information and performance indicators is less common on this side of the world, but I have to start somewhere.

For any info you don't want to post here, send me a PM but give me a head's up in the thread that you are doing so to prompt me to log in and check PMs.

Please do not clog up the thread with rants against U.S. foreign policy, WSI, etc.

Thanks for reading, and wish me luck,

MGySgt V
    Last edited by gunnyv; 10-19-2008 at 03:29 PM. Reason: Add'l info

Forum Member

Gunny,
    I wish I could help you more.............but I will say this hurry home and be safe about it !!!!!!!!
    IACOJ both divisions and PROUD OF IT !
    Pardon me sir.. .....but I believe we are all over here !
    ATTENTION ALL SHOPPERS: Will the dead horse please report to the forums.(thanks Motown)
    RAY WAS HERE 08/28/05
    LETHA' FOREVA' ! 010607