Forum Member

Default I have no clue - Help me!! Fairfax County Fire and rescue, VA

I am not sure where to even start except by clearly stating that I don't have and have never had any exposure to anything having to do with firefighting. I have been in corporate America and become somewhat succeful I want to give to society. I have always liked the physical aspect of helping people.

I am a 45yo male. I am in excellent fitness (play on 5 soccer teams). I was in the Air Force for 4 years after HS. I have a graduate degree (MBA). I like helping people.

I am a good way through the process of being screened to join the Fairfax County Fire and Rescue Department. I passed everything but the Polygraph and psychological test scheduled for later this month. The process so far has taken about a year.

Questions?

1) What the heck do firefighters do for 12 hours when they are not on a call?
    2) Am I too old to be considering this new career? (I am very fit, but don't like a lot of BS).
    3) What questions are asked on the polygraph? I don't know why a FF would need to be polygraphed -- there has to be a focus (drugs/theft/arson?)
    4) Is staying fit encouraged by fire departments?
    5) I don't mind paying my dues, so what is the normal career progression? In other words, with zero FF or medical experience where am I likely to start? What will physically do on a call? (pull hose, drive the truck, etc??)
    6) Given I am older and have a graduate degree and have a lot of management experience, will this help me grow in my career faster?
    7) What happens if a FF gets too old or unfit, are there other "desk" jobs they are retired to or are they fired?

This is enough for now. Any insight is appreceated....I am utterly clueless in this subject.

Cheers

Rich

Forum Member

The process so far has taken about a year.