Thread: Need Some Help

Default Need Some Help

I currently live in ohio just south of columbus i just finished and got my firefirghting I & II card but i have run into alittle problem.....it is so hard to get a job over here in ohio as a firefighter i have family that live in saint louis and have told me to try over there....I do not know if anyone is hireing around saint louis and if they are i was wondering what stations and the qualifications to be hired...i am also currently working on getting my emt-basic card....if anyone can help me on this little delimma i would really appreciate it

MembersZone Subscriber

From what I've always understood, to get a job in or near St. Louis you have to graduate from their academy. Just having FF I and II (even Missouri's certification) doesn't cut it for some reason.

MembersZone Subscriber

Quote Originally Posted by Catch22 View Post
    From what I've always understood, to get a job in or near St. Louis you have to graduate from their academy. Just having FF I and II (even Missouri's certification) doesn't cut it for some reason.
    political, political, political.....
    In order to work in St. Louis County you have to have the county academy and it is hard to get into . It is possible (although difficult) to get hired without the academy and then the hiring department can put you in as a priority one student. It is also possible (although even more difficult) to get hired as an EMT, but, most all of the departments/districts require you to be a paramedic.

This district hires without the academy but you have to be a paramedic http://www.mehlvillefire.com

Here is the link to the application process for the academy.
    http://stlcofireacademy.com/Application_Process.html

Good Luck...

Default St. Louis Fire