Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Question I need some advice...

I'm currently a sophmore in college majoring in construction, and have been on a volunteer fire dept. for a little over a year. I've decided that I want to pursue career in both... I was thinking about it for a long time, and realized it would be too hard to leave the fire service once I graduated college; I love it way too much! I guess my question to you guys is do any of you have two careers (one being firefighting), and if so is it easy to manage?

Stay safe,
    JD

MembersZone Subscriber

A lot of the guys on my dept have two jobs especially construction. Of course they are doing residential construction and do the jobs themselves. But we do have some that work for others like refrigation servicing and plumbing. Consdiering that you are on one day and off two it's pretty easy to work another job. I used to be a traveling sales rep for a company out of Chicago and covered all of the state of Iowa selling tool steel ( what tool and die shops use). I also used to work at our local Boy Scout camp and put in about 500 to 800 hrs per year volunteering there doing maintenance work.Good luck in whatever you decide to get into

Forum Member

I have a bachelor's degree in Information Technology and worked for almost 10 years in IT before making the change and becoming a career firefighter. I had almost 13 years in the volunteer fire service before making the change. At first I didn't do any IT work other than fixing friends computers. Now I have a small side job, less than 10 hours per week, as the tech coordinator for my local grade school. I think it works out well, and it gives me a way to actually use my $45k+ education...

MembersZone Subscriber