Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 21m

Default 21m

I am wondering how Army MOS 21m compairs to a local or city department? What i mean is, how are the stations staffed?, what are the shifts like?, and just any info i can get. I want to serve my country, and be a firefighter. I just want to get as much information as i can.

Thank's for all your input

MembersZone Subscriber

You may not get a response for a while, 21m are like unicorns. If you see one, you should take a picture.

A lot of recruiters dangle 21m in front of people like it's an easy job to get. Don't let them fool you, there are VERY few slots and the active duty contingent of army firefighters is going the way of the dodo. I am a civilian firefighter at Elmendorf AFB/Ft Richardson. Ft Rich is one of the biggest army bases in the military and we have exactly 0 army firefighters. I've actually only seen 1 in the 4+ years I've been involved with the military fire service (4 years AD air force, just came back on as a civilian) and that was at the fire academy. The army should be totally rid of active duty 21m by 2014. If you're looking to serve active and be a firefighter, talk to the Air force recruiter, and even that's a stretch. If you've gotten a 21m slot guaranteed...give it some consideration but realize you might spend a lot of your time overseas sitting behind a machine gun.