Exclamation Back issues. Oh the fun

I am 26 years old and am an old gymnast. I am a part time gymnastic coach. I hurt my back in gymnastics a while ago and had a few MRIs done. I have a degenerative disk. One disk is darker then the rest. I cant lift objects over 25 pounds for too long. I can and probably will have back surgery to replace the disk with a artificial disk. Even tho I really dont want it done. Now im a optimistic person so is there any chance in hell that I can do some kind of firefighter job or rescue job? With the surgery I will be like new again as in I can lift heavy stuff again but Im thinking the physical I may not pass.

I know things are bad. I wish I made different choices when I was younger but you only get one back bone. Im I out for the count? Should I even try, is what I am getting at. My passion in life is helping people in need. I was going to be a coast guard rescue swimmer but those dreams went down the drain with my back. I asked on some coast guard boards about my problem and they said im grounded.
    Is it the same for firefighting? If you get surgery your out on the side lines?
    I need to help people in my life as a carrier but my options are not the best now. And no I do not want to be a doctor or a nurse. I need the danger side to it too.

So give it to me guys.

And if a man was already a firefighter and needed back surgery so he could lift heavy loads again, would he be put to a desk job the rest of his carrier or because he was already a firefighter he could get back into the action again?

Thanks for any replies.

sincerely,
    Christopher H.

Forum Member

A firefighter wearing the complete PPE (personal protective equipment) ensemble and wearing an air pack and carrying forcible entry tools is carying an extra 50+ pounds right off the bat.

You have to be able to lift ladders from 10 feet to 24 feet by yourself.

You have to drag hoselines and nozzles through burning buildings.