Forum Member

Default Effective ways to opperate pressure relief valves

I was wondering what you guys would say would be a effective way to opperate a pressure relief valve. The reason i ask is because i am new to driving and pumping op's. I understand what it does and that if i run the pressure up to wear i want it to be as a maximum i would stop at that pressure and turn the vavle left (or lower) until the light comes on then go back to what my pressure is i am set. However i am asking because it seems like i am missing something or doing something backwards. even though we don't realy use it i would like to know that i am doing this right. Any help is greatly appriciated.
    (the reason we don't realy use it is because we only use two handlines off of the truck at 100 PSI at the nozzles.

MembersZone Subscriber

That's the basic procedure I was taught and what I do. Most of the time our relief valve is set at or near the correct pressure, so not much adjustment is needed.

Forum Member

Default ????

The reason you use it is for just that reason...you have TWO lines out. If one is shut down the pressure relief valve will take the pressure surge and relieve it. They put the pressure relief valves on there for a reason....use it. It's a safety device use it!!!
    Respectfully,
    Jay Dudley
    Retired Fire
    Background Investigator
    IACOJ-Member
    Lifetime Member CSFA
    IAFF Alumni Member

Forum Member

Exactly as Jay said. Trust me you will not have time to reach up and throttle down if one of the hose lines is shut down quickly. I know they are supposed shut down slow....but you know how things happen.

MembersZone Subscriber

We actually keep ours turned all the way down (recommended by our pump mfg.). It takes a bit of a dance between the throttle and the PRV, but it gets easier the more you do it. Crank the RPMs up until the pressure doesn't raise, then crank the PRV a few turns until the pressure doesn't raise, then vice versa.