Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default Will standard gas mask (police) help in a fire?

My first post here. I'm a police officer just outside Atlanta, GA and had a question after reading an article regarding a cop in Rochester who had run into a building on fire, got into the elevator (big mistake I know), and got sick from smoke inhalation.

My agency issued all of us PPE kits w/ gas masks. I've also got another new model Avon gas mask issued to me for SWAT. I've used the mask numerous times once we enter a building that we've fired lots (well over a hundred in 1 case) of 37mm and 40mm gas rounds into. The mask works fine.

I wanted to know that in the event of a fire and we were in a position to enter a structure would this mask work also to filter out the smoke? I'm not sure if the smoke would clog the filter quicker than gas rounds that have had time to dissepate.

Thanks for the help and your service. Stay safe out there.

Although the "smoke" or "Byproducts of combustion" are quite poisonous - the issues you would run into with the type of mask you have are:

First - It may not really filter out all the "bad stuff" that's in the smoke (based on chemical composition & particulate size).

Second (and more important) - Even if the mask did clean out all the bad stuff - Your mask is simply a filter and still requires that there be enough oxygen present in the free air to support life. That may not be the case in fire conditions where the fire itself is using up all the oxygen.

While your type of mask may provide some protection (and something is always better than nothing) - I can not reccomend or suggest it's use in those types of conditions. You are however free to do what you think is best for you.

Oh - and thanks for your service.
    Take Care - Stay Safe - God Bless
    Stephen
    FF/Paramedic
    Instructor

MembersZone Subscriber