Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    MembersZone Subscriber

Default Incident Safety Officer - really useful?

Hello,

I'm a firefighter from Germany, and therefore not really used to having some sort of Safety Officer at the scene (that position currently doesn't exist in our manuals).

But as I've read some interesting stuff on the advantages of having an ISO, I'd like to ask you, the ones who have already worked with Safeties, some questions:

-Do you think the position of an ISO is really needed?
    -What do you reply to people saying "every officer is responsible for the safety of his crew, therefore we don't need a Safety Officer"?
    - Have you ever experienced problems between the IC and the ISO, for example when the ISO decided to pull crews out of a building because of the danger of collapse? Or is it common for every IC to accept what the ISO does?

Thanks for your answers and Happy Christmas to everybody! ;-)

MembersZone Subscriber

I've worked incidents with and without a safety officer. We don't assign on on a lot of our calls and get along fine. If we have the manpower and a qualified person, the position will get filled. For most incidents, even working fires, the position is filled after all other division / sector officers are in place. Placing a person in that position just to fill the position is not worthwhile. If an experienced, knowledgeable person is available, and extra set of eyes is always good.

Although, most of my experience with SOs is on training burns. I've seen the SO pull people out of both training burns and actual house fires, with no complaint from the Incident Commander. After being advised, the problem was mitigated and we continued with operations.

Forum Member

Hello sir..A good Christmas to you also.