MembersZone Subscriber

Default Hi, and Seasons Greetings, from SC

Lurking for a while, finally making an appearance. I am a transplant from Europe; moved here 4 years ago. I am an IT Analyst by trade (10+ years into it now), and a volunteer FF in Florence, South Carolina by heart. Joined the fire service just over two years ago, and personally I think I couldn't have landed at a better, more professional department, and should have done it a decade ago.

In short: Combination department, three stations, experienced fireground officers; roughly 50 members total. YTD ~830 calls, and still counting. I average 25%-30% of the calls.
    I wish I could afford to become a career firefighter, but with an hourly salary barely above minimum wage, I can't quit my day job. (Waiting on the day I win the lottery to do that ).

I take training very seriously. Currently only hold FF-I certification, but that's because I couldn't attend the last FF-II class due to family issues. Besides FF-II, and pumper/operator, I'm also waiting on the first available 'first responder' class to upgrade myself from merely being a CPR/First Aid certified individual. I don't know if I have the urge to go any further than that with regards to medical. I'm considering specializing in rope rescue and extrication.

I spend a lot of time at our department, because my job allows me a lot of flexibility. Florence county is split up into several fire districts, with each their own department, and then there is the Florence City FD. We have standing mutual-aid agreements, and know each other because we play and train together. Also, I believe virtually all City FF's are also members of their respective district volunteer FD's.

We work very closely with our county run EMS; many of them are also members of our and neighboring fire departments. Our county-wide dispatch uses EMD, and we run first responder calls alongside EMS.