Forum Member

Default Career Advancement: Resident, or Paid?

Hey fellas,
    So I'm presently a firefighter/EMT with a smaller volunteer department (though we do not run EMS calls; I just have the card). I'm working on my fire degree and eventually, medic school. I decided to move up the ladder some and applied at a nearby department with a Resident Firefighter program...they're busier than we are around here, and they run EMS calls, so I figured it'd be good experience. The catch is, it doesn't pay.

So I was accepted and my processing date is next week. But then my current Chief calls me and tells me that a Firefighter-EMT position just opened up at the next district over from us. They're not a very busy department compared to the one I was accepted to, with the exception that they do a -lot- of Critical Care patient transfers. If I went there, that'd be my main responsibility. And the big thing, it comes with a paycheck.

I don't think I could do both. The residency requires 10 shifts a month, is about 60 miles away, and the job nearby is full time. It sounds like I could have a fairly decent shot at getting it. Should I put in for it and forget the Residency if accepted? What's the better option here, taking career advancement in to consideration?

I'm sort of leaning towards the paid job, because it would get me some EMS experience while letting me continue my education and make considerably better money than I'd get from working at a gas station part time or something. What would you guys recommend?

Thanks,
    Brian

Forum Member

Paycheck, paycheck, paycheck. Get your foot in the door and you can lateral out later if you don't like it...or heck, you might find out you love the department. Paid spots don't come up everyday...resident positions are a dime a dozen.

Forum Member

I don't think we know enough detail about the two opportunities to adequately form a good opinion. Ultimately, it's a decision that you have to make about what's best for you.