Forum Member

Default Newbie needs some help

Hey, let me introduce myself, Names Zack, im a junior volunteer firefighter from Maine. Ive only been a firefighter for about a month and have yet to go on a real call, got close but we got called off a few miles away from the accident scene. Anyways, im looking for a little help. I have yet to receive training as it just hasnt come around yet this year, but im wondering what i need, i have only talked with my chief briefly and he is out of town frequently and is hard to talk with. The other captains and senior members are also volunteer so its hard to get into contact with them also. Im just looking for what i need to try to set myself up with as far as training so that i can be ready to roll when we get calls. I also might be taking this a little too fast but i am interested in getting EMS/EMT training. I have a CPR/First Aid cert, which is pretty basic i know. What do i need for training as far as this? I will be attending college in the fall and am wondering if there are good college courses to take to get myself started with these. Im sorry for all of the newbie questions but i am very new to firefighting, no one in my family is a firefighter but i have wanted to be one since i was about 5, just never got into training or been able to join untill now.

Thanks in advance for the help.
    Zack

Forum Member

assuming you're 18 or soon to be 18.

go to department training, as many as you can make. if your dept auto-aids with another fd, go to their training as well. you need experience and that only comes with TIME.

do you want to be a career ff or volly ff with another career ?

your college most likely will have EMT and fire academy classes. look into these. if you are taking a degree track, you can bump one prerequisite class per semester or per year to take these classes.