MembersZone Subscriber

Default Does being laid off from one good job ruin my chances?

I'm currently starting to apply to fire depts and feel I have a good background for employment exempt for one fault.

I've been a wildland firefighter for 5 years(FF1), Volunteer for almost three(Driver, Pumper Operator, High/Low Angle Rescue, HZMAT Ops, etc) , EMT-B for two, and have almost finish my A.S. degree in Fire Science/Tech and EMS-paramedic program, but was laid off/forced to resigned from the USFS due to personal reasons with a supervisor last year.

Will this ruin my chances for employment??

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by jmcguffee View Post
    but was laid off/forced to resigned from the USFS due to personal reasons with a supervisor last year.

Will this ruin my chances for employment??
    What were the reasons?

Forum Member

This will most likely come down to you having to sit down with whoever is in charge of hiring and explain your situation.
    Career Firefighter
    Volunteer Captain

-Professional in Either Role-

Quote Originally Posted by Rescue101 View Post
    I don't mind fire rolling over my head. I just don't like it rolling UNDER my a**.

Forum Member

be prepared to explain yourself, hopefully your explanation is satisfying to them. I wouldn't stop trying because of it. seems like you have worked a few other places and hopefully have some good references from elsewhere.

MembersZone Subscriber

I have to admit, I made a few mistakes, and take full responsibility for them, but feel there were some other issues involved.

Over a period of a year, I was late to work 3 or 4 times, which resulted in multiple (2) write ups. The last straw was not in sleeping in late, but calling in for a day off to take care of a personal issue that needed immediate attention (I had almost 60 hrs of annual saved up at that point). Time wise, it was a very poor decision, though I hadn't been late in over 3 months.