Forum Member

Default Cal Fire (CDF) - Suggested Units?

(Posted this in the Hiring/Employment forum, but thought I'd try here as well)

I'm finally ready to put in my first application with Cal Fire (CDF) and was wondering if anyone had any insight into which Units would be best to apply to as a first-time applicant. Mainly, are there certain Units that tend to hire more firefighters each season than others? I'm located in the SF Bay Area and am planning to apply to the local Units as well as those located up the coast and in the Sierras (i.e. Northern Units).

Also, I currently work as a reserve/volunteer with a county department and just earned my paramedic license - will these help improve my chances of getting hired as a seasonal?

Finally, I know the hiring process is a bit different and was wondering if anyone knew how to choose which stations to go visit since there can be a couple dozen in each unit.

Thanks all in advance for your replies and best of luck.

Forum Member

Casey, I have friends that have gotten hired in the Humboldt-Del Norte Unit whom have not had many certs, i.e. only 67 hour CDF cert. Some of the more difficult units to get picked up with atleast in the Northern Unit are Santa Clara, San Mateo-Santa Cruz, and Butte Units. I don't know if you have applied by mail to all the Northern California Units but I would definitely recommend doing so, because some Units do not send out interviews to some of their applicants based on lack of qualifications, limited available positions, etc.

Your reserve/volunteer experience will increase your chances of getting hired with Cal Fire. Your Paramedic license will definitely help you out in getting hired with the Riverside Unit, many of their stations in that Unit have medics. In Northern California not many Cal Fire stations have medics.