MembersZone Subscriber

Default Wildland Academy

Is it possible to get hired as a seasonal firefighter without the academy? I'm a firefighter in the Milwaukee Metro area. I have quite a few certs, but not much should transfer except for EMT. I was looking to moving out to San Francisco in May with a friend and thought that working a seasonal job with Cal Fire would be nice. Is it possible without the academy and being out of state? Thanks.

Forum Member

Yes, but only in units that offer a 67 hour (over 100 hours in reality) academy. These include Mendo, LNU, Humboldt, to name a few. Talk to people in these units to make sure they are running academies. Outside this, it is very hard to find an academy that is not part of a full FF1 academy. Ben Davis Training Center in riverside offers one, and there is one in Yreka and San Luis Obispo I believe. If you are serious about moving here and getting hired, make an effort to call around and get this under your belt, it will pay off.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by clark918 View Post
    Is it possible to get hired as a seasonal firefighter without the academy? I'm a firefighter in the Milwaukee Metro area. I have quite a few certs, but not much should transfer except for EMT. I was looking to moving out to San Francisco in May with a friend and thought that working a seasonal job with Cal Fire would be nice. Is it possible without the academy and being out of state? Thanks.
    http://www.fire.ca.gov/about/about_c...otection.php#1

Being a Bay Area native, I would recommend locking-down a job out here before making the full move commitment because it's the second most expensive place in the country to live (per capita).

Good luck if you do apply, but understand that the Cal Fire seasonal positions are sought-after by thousands in-state (myself included) as it is a great job and once you get hired one season, you are automatically eligible for rehire the next season.