Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Question SCBA In Dispatch?

Recently, we had an incident in our jail which is next to dispatch. An inmate accidentally mixed some cleaning chemicals that reacted with each other. The result was the jail and the adjoining courts were evacuated due to a noxious cloud in the ventilating system. The dispatch center did not evacuate, despite the recommendation by the FD that it should be evacuated.
    The dispatchers on duty stayed at their stations while dispatch, the jail and courts were being ventilated during the incident. Our supervisor now wants to have an SCBA put in dispatch for a dispatcher to wear should this happen again. From what I understand, the SCBA would be worn so the dispatcher could stay at their station and man the radios and phones.

My question is this- Do any of your dispatch centers have SCBA in them to protect the dispatchers on duty?

Right now, as a long-time firefighter, I am against putting SCBA in dispatch. Reason #1 is my supervisor (non-FF) only thinks we need one SCBA. IMHO we would need a minimum of three SCBA due to the staff in dispatch. No one in a toxic atmosphere should be left alone just because they have an SCBA on.
    Reason #2 is if the atmosphere is hazardous enough to require SCBA, we should evacuate the building for dispatcher safety. The exit to the building from dispatch is about twenty feet across the lobby from the dispatch entrance. It would be faster to exit the building than it would be to don an SCBA.
    Reason #3 is most of the staff are not trained firefighters and have no experience wearing SCBA in an emergency. Besides myself, there is only one other dispatcher that is a firefighter. After donning the SCBA, they would be required to sit at their console and answer phones and talk on the radio while wearing it. That is not realistic in my opinion. Training would be required so they would become proficient in wearing SCBA.