Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    MembersZone Subscriber

Default Cal Fire Interview

I just got the invite for an interview with the Santa Clara Unit. I have a few questions:

I applied to a few other units as well. Do most interview at about the same time? I live in Milwaukee, WI and will be flying out. I really don't have the money to fly out four times so it would be nice to have them at about the same time. I applied with OCFA for their hand crew position. That test is around the same time which is good. I'll just rent a car and make the drive up to Morgan Hill after that.

Where, other than the Cal Fire website, can I get information about the job? I want to learn as much as possible before the interview. Being from Milwaukee, we don't learn about wildland firefighting.

I've asked this in another thread about Cal Fire in general, but what are my chances on getting hired by the Santa Clara Unit? I'm a part-time firefighter. I just graduated with my Associate Degree in Fire Protection. I have WI-FFI, FFII, EMT-B(National Registry), HazMat-Tech, and Fire Inspector. I'm not sure if any of those will help. I'm just a bit worried about not having a Wildland Course under my belt. So does anyone here know if I still stand a chance with this unit?

Any information would be great!

Forum Member

Congrats on getting an interview, SC U is a very busy unit with a lot of initial attack. Yes, most interviews are AROUND the same time, but they don't coordinate so you may end up having to pick one unit over another if they are on the same day. As far as getting info about the job, fly in a couple days early and call the stations to set up visits. Its crucial you show your face. Coordinate so you can hit 3-4 in one day. I think there are only 9 scu stations so its doable.