Forum Member

Default My First Call

My first real call was during day shift. I got my bunker gear on hoped on to the rig "I have all my essentials done mods 1,2, and 3" Just three of us a driver, officer and me as hydrant. It was a great experience!

Forum Member

Look bud, I'm a Junior Firefighter. Of course I want to dig into the action. But there is a time and a place for everything. While we are juniors our main job should be to LEARN. To learn how to be firefighters. Yes, there are some tasks that are ok, but getting on an apparatus and responding code to a call on your second day is a little rediculous. I first rode to a call almost 90% through my Firefighter One. That call was a gas leak, we responded non code. There turned out to be nothing there. Just a faint smell of natural gas. My point is, take your time. We have our entire lives ahead of us to be firefighters. My department allows me to do small brush fires, mva's ( usually support work ), structure fires ( no interior attack ), ect. But my goal is to learn all I can now in order to be a career firefighter. Just take things slow and learn, be safe. Alex.

Forum Member

I am a Firefighter now but when i was a Junior about 6 or 7 years ago my first call was a RAGING FULL BLOWN...........fire alarm activation at a warehouse wed go to about every week.
    Basically, Its all about breaking glass and kickin' *****

Forum Member

I am a senior member now but when i started I was 16 and was at the station and we got hit out for an accident with injuries. I had no formal training yet and I had been a member for maybe a week when I got it. Our SOGs for a junior is that you have to wait by the officers door and if the officer wanted that junior then they could let them on the truck so my officer at that time let me on. We got there and I laid down some oil dry and swept up the road of debris.