Forum Member

Smile Juniors, your first time out?

Tell me about your first time out and what was it like..
    Well, i joined a year ago, when i was 14, I ran a few calls, but then some laws/guidelines in Pennsylvania got changed and we weren't allowed to ride the apparatus anymore until we were 16. We still train, which is the most important thing right now. (I turn 16 in april) Anyway, -
    When i was 14, I had joined, got my pager and my turnout gear, went home, went to sleep. When i got up the next morning, i grabbed the pager out of my charger and put it on my belt, and went outside to ride bike, i turned the corner, and had been riding right in front of the firehouse when the tones played. And than the notorious, beepbeepbeepbeep. Which being a newbie, I listened to the dispatch first. And i was on the ground with my bike trying to unclip my pager and at the same time trying to drag my bike out back of the firehouse. I ran in through the bay door got my gear down and got it on in about, eh, 50 seconds, and i waited. My buddy who joined with me the day before was right there with me aswell. We were both assigned to the rescue. When we got on scene we found out the accident was only 30 seconds down the road (what a first call, eh?). The car jumped down a hill on an overpass and basically kissed the road (hard).

Forum Member

Please note, I am COMPLETELY pro-explorers on calls...but...they let you roll with 0, no, not even a hint of experience.

THAT I feel is asking for trouble.

Forum Member

Default My first call

Man the first night I joined the FD I went to the station got my pager and fire gear,and went home.My little sister had a ball game(her school is right in front of the main station).The tones dropped and I went to the station got my gear down opened the bay doors and waited for a driver..we pulled up on-scene to the structure and had her out in an hour.We had about 33 firefighters/first responders on-scene.

Forum Member