Thread: summer job

Default summer job

I know there have been probably a hundred threads like this but the search isn't workin right on my computer right now so I go ahead and ask anyways. I am currently a college student with FFI certification. Is it at all possible to go out west and fight wild land fires for just 1 summer? If so whats a good way to get started?

Default yeah

I also have the same situation.

i graduated my Firefighter 1 academy
    and got a 67 hour CDF wildland cert and a EMT-B cert

what are our chances of getting hired on a hotshot crew/ engine?

Default Summer job

Go to usajobs to look for the postions. You shoudl also contact the Forest Service offices in the areas you want to work. They are ususally very helpful

best to contact the local forest service office you want to apply to...develop a relationship with an FMA or AFMO

Does anyone know the entry level Fed GS pay grade for a hand-crew?

Default Gs?

does anyone know what GS pay grade entry level wildland firefighters go in as? any bump if your sent out as an EMT?

Forum Member

No bump for EMT or Medic. $24,499 as a GS-03 which is the typical starting place. Plus overtime and hazard pay during the summer. Depending on the summer depends on your ending salary. You can work anywhere from 200 to 1000+ hours of OT. So you can see how it fluctuates. If you want a job you need to have your application in yesterday. Most crews in CA have done hiring or are in the process.
    "The probability of someone watching you is proportional to the stupidity of your action."

Forum Member

OP: Probably too late. Fire season technically already started (Climate wise)

MikeTheBlade: Dude, if you have the CAL Fire academy under your belt, you are almost guaranteed an interview everywhere. Did you apply anywhere?

Forum Member

Default Summer job at FD

Dear colleagues,