Default Reasons why I think I won't get hired...

First, I want to say that this is an awesome website! I'm glad I found it while trying to find answers to some issues I think will prevent me from getting hired with a FD.

I'm 34 years old, been married for 9 years, and have two beautiful little kids. I am an EMT-B (since July 2008) and currently in Paramedic school (will finish July 2009).

I earned myself a DWI for being an idiot 10 years ago while hanging out with friends at a club and then driving home. I won't lie, that was not the first time I had driven home from a club after drinking, but after going through the DWI process (i.e. money, probation, community service, etc), it was definitely a wake up call. Trust me, its the most humiliating experience I have ever had. I figure I could have saved about $9,950 if I had just decided to let a taxi drive me home that night.

In 2003, I made a huge mistake trying to help my mom and x-step dad start up a transportation business. It unfortunately led to me having to file chapter 7 bankruptcy in 2006 due to me using my credit to finance equipment and other start up costs. Without too much detail, the business was going to pay me back plus interest and did great the first 2 years. My x-step dad decided drugs were a better choice than running the business effectively. It was all in the toilet from there.