MembersZone Subscriber

Default Outsourcing in the Fire Service

I am doing a master's thesis on outsourcing fire protection in communities and wondered if anyone wanted to provide some feedback. I know that there are communities that outsource EMS and even some that outsource the entire fire department.

Specifically, What are your thoughts on outsourcing? Can private companies provide the same level of service? Can outsourcing save a community money? What will happen to training, certification and professionalism? Would outsourcing destroy the IAFF?

Any volunteers?

MembersZone Subscriber

I'll bite.

My opinion is that a private company doing fire/ems has it's place and can provide good service, if they do it right. It is just like any other company providing service like restaurants, construction, mechanical service, etc. You get the good ones and the bad ones.

I have worked for a private company providing fire service. The particular company I worked for did have their stuff together and required highly trained professionals. In fact if you did not know we were a contract service, you would not have known any different from how we looked or operated. Yes, in that case, we could provide the same service for cheaper than the municipality and we were just as professional and just as skilled as anyone else in the business. Because of the higher standards of the company in hiring employees, we did not see a lot of turnover in personnel.