MembersZone Subscriber

Default Army Fire Dept Fort Rucker Alabama

I just received my notification that I was not selected for the GS-3 position of firefighter at Fort Rucker. It stated that I was not among the top selected and that I was not being considered.

Now I am a veteran, with 5 pt preference, and am not disabled in anyway. I was under the impression that this was "ENTRY" level and with 16 open positions, I was hopeful that I would get a call to be hired. I am getting very frustrated in the FEDEAL Hiring system and am about to give up on serving my country again in a civilian capacity. I along with other have served our country and I am sure I am not the only one who is being turned down... but when it says I am not among the top qualified for an "ENTRY" level position... it get me wondering what they are looking for. I am a firefighter already,a nd have EMT and HazMat training... if anyone has answers please write me back, and explain this.

I have and will always want to be a firefighter and will do nothing to stop this dream.

Thanks,
    Doug

Forum Member

Don't get too discouraged. There are many people applying for fire jobs, and the the selecting official doesn't get to see every name and resume of those who applied (I can only speak on the Army side of the house). On our last few opening the department I work for had over 400 people apply for a few positions. The Chief only saw about 50 names on the referral list. There is no telling how the regional civilian personnel office creates the list, but the Chief has to use this list to hire from.

There are quite a few openings in Army and DoD right now. My advice to anyone applying is to be flexible when applying for jobs. Go where the jobs are, don't wait for the local base to open a position, you may be waiting a while.