Forum Member

Default Explorer Pride: Wheres the Line

I'm new to exploring. Where I'm from, it's in our SOP that we cannot wear any part of our uniform outside of an official function. Also, we're not members of our IAFF local.

Quite a few of the explorers have their facebook profiles plastered with FF: pictures of them in their uniforms outside of function (at home, with friends in neighborhood, at parties) and Firefighter listed as their job. Not only that, but quite a few also have "firefighter" spewed all over their cars.

I could easily be guilty as well, but I am too shameful. For instance, I almost purchased a front license plate for my truck. However, I am trying to stay within my boundaries; I do not wish to upset anyone, and want to maintain respect for professionals within my department.

So, when do you reserve your pride? Am I being over sensitive?

Forum Member

If your not supposed to wear your uniform out of the station ( i assume this means not only your turnout but station wear too?) then dont. I Think that getting a license plate/ bumper tag is ok. Its ok to have pride in your job, the key is not to overdo it. Dont go out and buy a million stickers with firefighting phrases, or put a thousand lights on your car. The main reason that people around here would put on the license plate tags are because if some respond from home or are coming from work when calls go out and they dont always get to the scene untill a few mins after the engines so while they are driving its nice to be able to let other motorists know who are in front of you why you might have your 4 ways on. I personally have nothing on my car since i live less than 1 mile from the station.

Forum Member

The way our SOP document is written, we cannot even wear issued t-shirts while not performing explorer duties.

Any other opinions?
    Last edited by RyanTurner; 03-20-2009 at 01:49 PM.

Forum Member