MembersZone Subscriber

Default May we contact your current employer?

I have a question regarding the "may we contact your current employer". Right now I have a very decent job unrelated to the fire service. I have been working there for 4 years and after my 5th year I will become professionaly licensed. My current employer does not know that I am thinking about changing career fields. With the way the economy is right now, I am afraid that if my job was contacted by a fire department my current employee status would be non-existant. How should I handle this conflict on an application? If I state I do not want you to contact my current employer does that portray me as a type of individual that will keep secrets or go behind someones back? If the intent is to verify employment why can't we just submit a paystub?

Let me know what you guys think, and what you state on an application and thanks for your advice.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by mick82907 View Post
    I have a question regarding the "may we contact your current employer". Right now I have a very decent job unrelated to the fire service. I have been working there for 4 years and after my 5th year I will become professionaly licensed. My current employer does not know that I am thinking about changing career fields. With the way the economy is right now, I am afraid that if my job was contacted by a fire department my current employee status would be non-existant. How should I handle this conflict on an application? If I state I do not want you to contact my current employer does that portray me as a type of individual that will keep secrets or go behind someones back? If the intent is to verify employment why can't we just submit a paystub?

Let me know what you guys think, and what you state on an application and thanks for your advice.