Closed Thread
Page 2 of 2 First 12
    Forum Member
    Rural Wisconsin, Retired from the burbs of Milwaukee

I have been using a carbon hood for about 2 years now. I like them, they are comfortable, seem to hold their shape and offer good protection.

Over the years I have used single and double layer Nomex hoods, the Tempo Uno, Pbi hoods, Kevlar hoods, P-84 lenzing hoods, and I even tried a Reed Hood.

I like both P-84 lenzing and carbon hoods. Again both are comfortable, hold their shape and offer good protection.

I immensely dislike the Pbi hood I used. It was a single layer and I cooked my ears while wearing it. Annecdotal? Of course but it is my experience.

Forum Member

I've gotten very comfortable with the KL23 (Kermel, Lenzing) hood by Lifeliners. The TPP rating on the hood is very good and is only a couple more dollars than the Nomex hood. When I'm igniting in a burn building I use the TP23 (Triple layer; PBI, Lenzing, Kevlar) and it works great. Much better than the Carbon Fiber hood that I tried once. Not a big fan.

MembersZone Subscriber

Quote Originally Posted by giweff View Post
    I would hope you are talking about doing this while teaching live burns or the flash over simulator or somthing like that. Not in the real world why would you need to?

Yes I do wear 2 nomex hoods while training in a live fire burn. Our company protocall is for the instructor to stand as long as possible thru the evolution.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by Hamelfire View Post
    Our company protocol is for the instructor to stand as long as possible thru the evolution.
    Just out of curiosity......why?
    ------------------------------------
    These opinions are mine and do not reflect the opinions of any organizations I am affiliated with.

MembersZone Subscriber

Quote Originally Posted by RFRDxplorer View Post
    Just out of curiosity......why?