Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Strongest Volunteer Departments

Hello, I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for what they think are the areas in the US that have the "strongest" or best established volunteer fire departments. I have heard a lot about Montgomery and Prince George's County fire departments as well as Virginia Beach's, but I was wondering where other busy, well-trained and -equipped departments are. Thanks!

Forum Member

Wink

Long Island N.Y. home of the 20 million dollar firehouses and 1 million dollar parade trucks. Cost to homeowner about a buck fifty a day. Four dollars less than their morning Starbucks.

Rural Wisconsin, Retired from the burbs of Milwaukee

Actually, money has little or nothing to do with a strong volunteer fire department. I am a part-time fire instructor for the tech college near where I live so I get to see a lot of FD's. I have been in well funded volly FD's that were a complete cluster flop because of in fighting and lack of leadership and I have been in tiny rural FD's with almost nothing where pride is strong and evident. The station is clean, the old obsolete rig they ride on is clean and well maintained, the equipment, minimal as it is, is clean and well maintained, and the morale is amazingly high.

Forum Member

Was a joke. Hence the little guy winking.

look at the DC metro area. PG, MG and Va. oddly enough, many of these strong volunteer departments have career firefighters as some of their strongest members.
    If my basic HazMat training has taught me nothing else, it's that if you see a glowing green monkey running away from something, follow that monkey!

FF/EMT/DBP

Let's talk fire trucks! BoxAlarm187's Avatar

I think you might be mistaking the Virginia Beach's large volunteer EMS system for their fire department. The VBFD is a career department with a handful of volunteers and volunteer-owned apparatus.